Manu Samoa Set To Face USA

Samoa will blood five players in Saturday’s game against the USA at the Estadio Anoeta, San Sebastian, Spain and LIVE on FloRugby.

The USA and Samoa have played each other five times, with Manu Samoa winning each game. However, the games have all been close. The first four games were all decided by a try or less, and the last meeting, plyed in the 2015 Rugby World Cup, was a 25-16 Samoa win.

Watch USA vs Samoa LIVE

Debutant Kane Leaupepe of Bay of Plenty will make his first appearance for Samoa this weekend when he pairs up with veteran Filo Paulo of London Irish in the locks. Other debutants including Ray Niuia, Ben Nee-Nee, Iakopo Mapu and Stacey Ili will all come off the bench for their first appearance in the blue jersey.

“I am just humbled and thankful to the Almighty for this opportunity to serve my county,” said Mapu. “I hold this very dear to my heart as they don’t come your way without hard work.”

USA vs Samoa History

1999 Samoa 27 USA 20 (Apia, Samoa)

2000 Samoa 19 USA 12 (San Francisco)

2007 Samoa 25 USA 21 (RWC, Saint-Etienne, France)

2015 Samoa 21 USA 16 (San Jose, CA)

2015 Samoa 25 USA 16 (RWC, Brighton, UK) 

Manu Samoa team to play USA:

No: First Name Last Name Club
1 Logovi’i Mulipola Newcastle Falcons (UK)
2 Motu Matu’u London Irish (UK)
3 Paul Alo-Emile Stade Francaise (FRANCE)
4 Kane Leaupepe Bay of Plenty (NZ)
5 Filo Paulo London Irish (UK)
6 Josh Tyrell Doncaster (UK)
7 Jack Lam (captain) Bristol Rugby Club (UK)
8 Faifili Levave Auckland (NZ)
9 Melani Matavao Otago Mitre10 (NZ)
10 Tusi Pisi Bristol Rugby Club (UK)
11 JJ Taulagi Hawkes Bay (NZ)
12 Alapati Leiua Bristol Rugby Club (UK)
13 Rey Lee-Lo Cardiff Blues (WALES)
14 Ed Fidow Aix Marseille (France)
15 Ah See Tuala Northampton (UK)
16 Ray Niuia North Harbour (NZ)
17 Jordan Lay Bristol (UK)
18 James Lay Bay of Plenty (NZ)
19 Ben Nee-Nee North Harbour (NZ)
20 Iakopo Petelo-Mapu Aana Chiefs (Samoa)
21 Dwayne Polataivao Northcote (NZ)
22 D’Angelo Leuila Papatoetoe (NZ)
23 Stacey Ili Hawkes Bay (NZ)

Head coach: Steve Jackson

T/A: Alistair Rogers

T/A: Chris Latham

T/A: Ben Afeaki

S&C 1: John Ashley Jones

S&C 2: Luke Stephenson

Video Analyst: Michael Quigley

Physiotherapist: Olivia Withers

HP Physio: Brett Davison

Team Manager: Va’aelua Aloi Alesana