Trio of Hull interest in England squad named to face New Zealand

England head coach Wayne Bennett has made four changes to his 19-man squad to face New Zealand on Sunday in the final Test of the three-game series.

Leeds Rhinos’ half-back Richie Myler replaces the injured Sam Tomkins (broken hand) in the halves, while Warrington Wolves’ Stefan Ratchford and Wigan Warriors’ Joe Greenwood have been confirmed as starting on the bench. Daryl Clark (rib) is also out due to injury, while George Burgess is banned.

Sean O’Loughlin, who didn’t feature in the second Test, has dropped out of the 19-man squad. He has been replaced by Hull-born centre Reece Lyne of Wakefield Trinity. Both Lyne and St Helens’ Mark Percival are not expected to make the final cut for the 17-man gameday team.

Hull FC star Jake Connor and former Hull KR captain Josh Hodgson have been named and will start at centre and hooker respectively.

Second row Elliott Whitehead will make his 20th appearance for England in this Sunday’s Test.

England squad in full:

1. Jonny Lomax (St Helens, Orrell St James)

2. Tommy Makinson (St Helens, Wigan St Judes)

3. Jake Connor (Hull FC, Siddal)

England’s Jake Connor celebrates at the final whistle during the International match at Anfield, Liverpool.
(Image: PA)

4. Oliver Gildart (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

5. Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants, Deighton Juniors)

6. George Williams (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

7. Richie Myler (Leeds Rhinos, Halton Farnworth Hornets)

8. Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Springs Lions)

9. Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders, East Hull)

10. James Graham (c) (St George Illawarra Dragons, Blackbrook)

11. John Bateman (Wigan Warriors, Bradford Dudley Hill )

12. Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders, West Bowling)

13. Luke Thompson (St Helens, Bold Miners)

14. Adam Milner (Castleford Tigers, Stanley Rangers)

15. Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

16. Joe Greenwood (Wigan Warriors, Saddleworth Rangers)

17. Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves, Wigan St Patricks)

18. Mark Percival (St Helens, Halton Farnworth Hornets)

19. Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity, Ideal Isberg)